This combination photograph shows, from left, Frank Blake, retired chairman/CEO of Home Depot, and John Schuerholz, vice chairman emeritus of the Atlanta Braves. Photo special to the MDJ.

In celebration of the 286th anniversary of the founding of Georgia, Sen. David Perdue and the Georgia Historical Society will induct Frank Blake, retired chairman/CEO of Home Depot, and John Schuerholz, vice chairman emeritus of the Atlanta Braves, as the newest Georgia Trustees.

The induction will take place Saturday at the annual Trustees Gala in Savannah.

“Frank Blake and John Schuerholz reflect what is best in the original Georgia Trustees,” said Dr. W. Todd Groce, president/CEO of the Georgia Historical Society. “Their commitment to the common good and their insistence on putting others first are in keeping with the leadership of James Oglethorpe and the other visionary founders of Georgia. Through their character, modesty, and comportment, Frank and John are prime examples of everything a great leader should be.”

In conjunction with the Office of the Governor, the Georgia Historical Society reestablished the Georgia Trustees in 2008 as a way of recognizing Georgians whose accomplishments and community service reflect the highest ideals of the original Trustees, a governing body chartered and appointed by His Majesty King George II of England in 1732 to establish a new colony in North America. The modern-day Trustees are appointed annually by the Governor and it is the highest honor the state can confer.

The 2019 Trustees Gala, “The Sapientia Society,” is the Georgia Historical Society’s premier annual event and the culmination of the Georgia History Festival. Each year, the evening draws top local, state and national leaders to honor and pay tribute to the best the State of Georgia has produced.

Previous inductees are Bernie Marcus, Ted Turner, Hank Aaron, Sam Nunn, Vince Dooley, Andrew Young, Tom Cousins, Herman Russell, Truett Cathy, Billy Payne, Arthur Blank, Paula Wallace, Alana Smith Shepherd, Muhtar Kent, James Blanchard, Paul Bowers, Ed Bastian, and Marguerite Neel Williams, who was honored posthumously.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.