One of Marietta’s hostesses with the mostest, Carol Kell, offered one of her famous breakfasts at the WellStar Gala auction. After a bidding war, Kim Gresh finally won the prize. Gresh wanted to have the breakfast during the Christmas season, so the party was held on Dec. 15. Guests enjoyed Carol’s signature breakfast fare of bacon, pork tenderloin, cheese grits, eggs and yes, biscuits and gravy — all homemade, of course. A fun time was had by all with Wellstar as the beneficiary.

Merrymakers include Cassandra Buckalew, Cassy Ferrel, Kim Gresh, Carole Kell, Faye Dimassimo, Dawn McEachern, Polly Segar and Diane Weeks.

♦ ♦ ♦

The Kiwanis Club of Marietta sponsors youth-oriented programs and spotlighted three of them and their activities during this past Christmas season. Marietta Sixth Grade Academy Builders Club worked to make fleece-knot blankets to be donated to children living in domestic violence shelters, Marietta Middle School Builders Club rang bells for the Salvation Army Red Kettle drive and Hickory Hills Elementary School Reading Oasis Book Give-Away had “Mary Christmas” and Tiny Tim read stories to all classes for a week. Each child selected a book of his or her choice as a gift from The Kiwanis Club of Marietta.

♦ ♦ ♦

On Dec. 18, Marietta Mayor Steve Tumlin presented the Mayor’s Awards at the Earl and Rachel Smith Strand Theatre. The awards celebrated the exceptional students, staff and community volunteers who work to make the Marietta schools special, different and better.

Recipients for the Mayor’s “Be Somebody Award were: Lauri Bruton (A.L. Burruss), Dora Blanco (Dunleith), Danielle Binkauskas (Hickory Hills), Merrell Sperling (Lockheed), Elizabeth Martinez (Park Street), Tamie Clark (Sawyer Road), Harriette Price (West Side), Diana Eraydin (Marietta Center for Advanced Academics) Brianna Maurer (Early Learning Center), Miriam Hyppolite (Marietta Sixth Grade Academy), Natalie Darbey (Marietta Middle) and BJ Smith (Marietta High).

Recipients of the Mayor’s “Birney” Award were: Jessica Turner (A.L. Burruss), Petra Correa (Dunleith), Pam Webb (Hickory Hills), Kristin Kade (Lockheed), David Eldridge (Park Street), Rosalyn Ward (Sawyer Road), Jane Moore (West Side), Angela and Christian Ford (MCAA), Juliana Lindley (ELC), Sarah Martin (MSGA), Michelle Gambon (Marietta Middle), Welansa Beyene (Marietta High) and Christine Sloan (Marietta High).

Recipients of the Mayor’s “Blue Devil” Award were: Sasha Goodwin (A.L. Burruss), Madisyn Dacosta (Dunleith), Charlie Collins (Hickory Hills), Aileen Pineda (Lockheed), Julian Castro (Park Street), Kendall McQueen (Sawyer Road), Anslie Semanisin (West Side), Alex Pritt (MCAA), Ellyanna Houstoulakis (ELC), Elijah H. Owen (MSGA), Tiah Carthers (Marietta Middle) and Sean Amaso (Marietta High).

Sally Litchfield is a longtime Marietta resident. She has written for the MDJ since October 2000. Send Sally news at Call Sally at 404-713-7318.


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.