Beginning July 1, 17-year-olds will be required to successfully complete the Joshua’s Law component of Georgia’s driver training program.

Currently those teens waiting until age 17 to test for their first license, are exempt from the 30 hours of classroom/online instruction and six hours of on-the-road training that comprise Joshua’s Law.

House Bill 466, passed during the most recent legislative session of the Georgia General Assembly, makes Joshua’s Law driver training mandatory for 17-year-olds. Anyone under the age of 18 will not be issued their initial Class D license without completing the required training.

There is a range of approved options and costs that parents and teens can use to fulfill the requirements. The most economical will be choosing an Online Class paired with the Parent Taught Road Training. All options can be found at the DDS website at

Support Local Journalism

Now, more than ever, residents need trustworthy reporting—but good journalism isn’t free. Please support us by purchasing a digital subscription. Your subscription will allow you unlimited access to important local news stories. Our mission is to keep our community informed and we appreciate your support.


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.