Pictured are the 51 Cobb County 4th through 6th grade 4-H’ers that competed at District Project Achievement on Feb. 9. Photo special to the MDJ.

On Feb. 9, 51 Cobb County 4th through 6th grade 4-H’ers traveled to Newton High School in Covington to compete at District Project Achievement.

There were 11 counties represented with 315 competitors.

Project Achievement is a public speaking competition where students select a topic of interest and give a four- to six-minute informative speech on their chosen topic. Projects from Cobb County ranged from the history of Coco Chanel to general science and sports. Project Achievement helps students to improve their writing and public speaking skills all while learning more about a topic of interest.

Cobb County 4-H was one of three counties recognized for outstanding participation. Cobb 4-H competitors included – Ahmed Abufara (Hollydale), Varun Akula (King Springs), Belle Anderson (West Side), Rex Ashby (Homeschool), Shubham Badve (Shallowford Falls), Erin Beggs (King Springs), Josiah Benjamin (Home School), Justice Benjamin (Home School), Jayden Bivins (Chalker), Dasani Bramwell (International Academy of Smyrna), Isabella Brodowski (King Springs), Chimmy Chukwuezi (Clay), Sonya Crocker (Dowell), Sophia Diallo (Dowell), Kennedy Erickson (Acworth), Taha Fraij (Chalker), Laila Fraij (Palmer), Robert Galloway (Due West), Aarshaya Gunjal (Bells Ferry), McKenna Hawkins (Mableton), Preston Hulet (Dowell), Alex Husband (Dowell), Juan Diego Jimenez Ramirez (Pitner), Daniah Kahla (Hollydale), Jameel Kahla (Hollydale), Mohammad Kahla (Hollydale), Alex Kerner (King Springs), Braydin Lawson (West Side), Kennedi Love (Mableton), Anna Marie Manneh (Chalker), Trinice McElroy (West Side), Katriana Mills (Addison), Ann Ndege (Keheley), Seven O’Dell (Pitner), Adeorike Ojora (Chalker), Chuka Onyimah (Pitner), Prayushi Padhi (King Springs), Teju Pannela (Chalker), Arya Patel (King Springs), Carson Phillips (Due West), Zaire Pinner (Hollydale), Justin Racel (Baker), Shaley Ratz (Bells Ferry), Cade Saldi (Mt. Paran), Cjun Isaac Sesso (Baker), Mythili Shah (King Springs), Ava Stacker (Bryant), Nkenna Uzoho (Due West), Jade Wade (Keheley), Giordan Wardell (Pitner) and Haylee Wendel (Pitner).

The event would not have been possible without grant funding from community partner Cobb EMC Community Foundation.

For more information, contact County Extension 4-H agent Brittani Lee at the UGA Extension Cobb County Office at 770-528-4070 or visit ugaextension.org/cobb.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.