The ArtsBridge Foundation has announced the nominees for the 11th annual Georgia High School Musical Theatre Awards, with winners to be unveiled at an April awards ceremony.

Presented as the Shuler Hensley Awards, recipients are recognized as the best of the state’s high school musical theatre students and schools, with some winners progressing to represent Georgia nationally in June.

Local nominees include:

♦ Todd Motter of The Walker School for “Disaster!” in the Orchestra category.

♦ Chris Arredondo of George Walton Comprehensive High School for “Young Frankenstein” in the Choreography category.

♦ Bill Schreiner of The Walker School for “Disaster!” in the Technical Execution category.

♦ Dan Crew of Alan C. Pope High School for “Chicago — High School Edition” in the Sound category.

The complete list of nominations and honorable mentions are available at

“The ArtsBridge Foundation presentation of The Shulers is an important part of the National High School Musical Theatre Awards program named The Jimmy Awards,” said Jennifer Dobbs, executive director of ArtsBridge Foundation. “Our 2017 live broadcast of The Shulers won the 2018 Southeast Emmy® Award for special event live coverage, indicative of the superb quality and high production value Georgia students bring at show time.”

Fashioned after Broadway’s Tony Awards, this year’s Shuler Award nominees in 17 categories span nearly 60 public and private schools from across the state. The categories celebrating excellence in high school musical theatre include overall production, ensemble, leading actress and actor, supporting actress and actor, ShowStopper, featured performer, direction, sound, costume design, scenic design, lighting design, technical execution, orchestra, music direction, choreography and new this year “The 11 o’clock Number.”

A 140 member Shuler Student Ensemble will join Shuler Hensley in the opening and finale numbers of the awards show, which also includes performances by the six schools nominated for overall production, the ShowStopper winner, “The 11 o’clock Number” winner and the leading actress and actor nominees.

The awards show, which takes place on stage at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre, is broadcast live on Georgia Public Broadcasting. Presented by the Georgia Lottery, the show will be April 18 at 8 p.m.

Tickets are available at


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.