Walker School teacher Todd Motter shares his Georgia High School Musical Theatre award with the orchestra pit crew.

During a two-hour stage show that aired live on Georgia Public Broadcasting, the ArtsBridge Foundation announced the winners of the 11th Annual Georgia High School Musical Theatre Awards.

Presented as the Shuler Hensley Awards — named for Marietta’s star of the stage and screen who was emcee of the evening event — winners were recognized as the best of the state’s high school musical theatre students and schools during 2018-19, with two winners progressing to represent Georgia nationally on June 24.

Fashioned after Broadway’s Tony Awards, this year’s Shuler Award nominees in 17 categories spanned nearly 60 public and private schools from across the State.

Todd Motter of The Walker School in Marietta won for the production “Disaster!” in the Orchestra category.

The complete list of winners, nominees and honorable mentions is available online at artsbridgega.org/programs/shuler-awards. For more information on The Walker School, visit thewalkerschool.org.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.