♦ Nichole Ogojiaku of Marietta, along with 98 other members of Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine’s Class of 2019, received Doctor of Medicine degrees in a May 5 ceremony in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania.

♦ The following students earned the distinction of Faculty Honors for Fall 2018 at the Georgia Institute of Technology – Alianna Dhalla, Arushi Saini and Michelle Voykovic, all of Acworth; Katrina Binkley of the Cumberland area; Trishla Chokshi, Mitchell Gacuzana, Hannah Geil, Spencer Gold, Austin Hatch, Alexander Lopez, Shilpa Mally, Yudhishthira Narine, Kelly O’neal, Kelvin Pierre, Connor Truono and Brooke White, all of Kennesaw; Rylie Geohegan and Edouard Goguillon, both of Mableton; Alexander Alea, Alyssa Bardin, Ana Cristian, Daniel Dakev, Thielly De Paula, Destini Deinde-Smith, Hannah Desoto, Sean Engelstad, Felipe Galarza, Rachel Garland, Benjamin Goldenthal, Yue Gu, Sophia Guldberg, Andrew Heineman, Daniel Hudadoff, Tiffany Jeng, Tianbo Jiang, Christina Jordan, Kayla Jordan, Ananya Kansal, Travis King, Steven Kochansky, Kathryn Leth, Mitchell Marine, Noah Meyer, Harsimran Minhas, Abhita Moorthy, Sarah Morrissey, Brittany Powell, Sahithi Puligundla, Patricia Ray, Cassidy Reese, Matthew Ritch, Dustin Roth, Nicholas Sinclair, Samantha Staviss, Christina Sun, Ashley Thomas, Richard Udall, Robert Walsh and Trevor Worthy, all of Marietta; Ciandra Calhoun and Amber Ott, both of Powder Springs; and Michael Ehme and Jeniveve Vaia, both of Smyrna.

♦ Brenau dance team member Lauren Hughes of Powder Springs was selected as a 2019 NAIA Competitive Dance All-American Honorable Mention. Hughes is the first Golden Tigers competitive dance team member to be honored with All-American status. She is the first dance team member to compete all four years at Brenau and was part of the 2019 team that competed at the NAIA Northwest Qualifier this past week at Midland University in Fremont, Ohio.

♦ Daniel Lawrence of the Cumberland area was recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. Lawrence was initiated at The Citadel.

♦ The following students were named to the Dean’s list at Anderson University for the fall semester 2018 – Victoria Murphy of Acworth; Travis Chance and Sara Pepper, both of Kennesaw; Ian Coulter and Nicholas Phillips, both of Marietta.

♦ Nichole Ogojiaku of Marietta, along with two other fourth-year medical students at Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine, recently completed a mission trip to Mandeville, Jamaica led by GCSOM faculty member, Dr. F. Dennis Dawgert. Dr. Dawgert provided primary medical care services and supervised the patient care provided by the three GCSOM students, who examined patients, assisted with patient triage, recorded patient complaints, took vital signs, distributed medicines and helped with clinic logistics. Each student who accompanied Dr. Dawgert was a recipient of The Jennifer A. Sidari, M.D. ‘13 Global Health Award.

♦ For the first time in Georgia Southwestern State University’s history, the College of Nursing and Health Sciences held a White Coat Ceremony on Feb. 26 to recognize 40 junior nursing students’ transition from the classroom to the clinical setting. The white coat signifies their role and status as a healthcare professional. Powder Springs native Jazmin Tolson was among those recognized.

Colleen Conti of Powder Springs was named to the President’s List of Mississippi College for Fall 2018.♦

♦ Corina Yanes of Marietta was among the student vocalists in the spring 2019 season performance of the Concert Chorale at Eastern Connecticut State University. The Concert Chorale is a vocal ensemble comprised of choral and orchestral masterworks.

♦ Donte Hayes of Kennesaw was one of 42 University of Iowa students featured in the UI’s annual “Dare to Discover” street banner campaign, which launched shortly after the new year in downtown Iowa City. The campaign recognizes the significant contributions undergraduate and graduate students make to research, scholarship, and discovery at the University of Iowa.

♦ The following students graduated from Georgia State University during the fall 2018 semester – Randasia Brown, Isaac Dolan, Cherish Huntley, Alaina Kulin, Noah Linn, Christopher Loeffler, Alexis Maxwell, Dawn Nelson and Keegan Thorpe, all of Acworth; Beatrice Benson, Willie Burns, Crystal Crawford, Kaila Crews, Cayla Jones, Thomas McLouth, Alexis Riddle, Kyle Wilson, Isis Woods and Gwen Warner, of Austell; Karim Badani, Victoria Cunningham, Elizabeth Fricks, Joelle-Ann Joseph, Shantelle Knight, Fabiana Lara, Monica Polite, Jacqueline Thomas, Shantina Walls and Shenell Williams, all of the Cumberland area; Nancy Abisarkis, Alberto Abreus, Octavia Antoine, Nicolette Barnett, Zaria Blake, Daija Blocker, Luisa Giler Mejia, Devin Luppowitz, Scherezade Mendez, Diaget Miller, Randhir Patil, Christopher Vento and Christopher Williamson, all of Kennesaw; Myloreal Anderson, Richard Barnett, Haley Blubaugh, Clarissa Chamorro, Jeremy Dowdell, Christina Ellis, Ormonde Gordon, Jennifer Hernandez and Jusufu Sirleaf, all of Mableton; Sadiyah Ahmad, Baruch Banks, Logan Barnette, Maxwell Blount, Althia Brimm, Quang Bui, Jori Callaway, Corey Chapman, Anastasia Chrysostom, Kayla Courtney, Sydney Darden, Alex Delgado, Arman Desai, Evan Diep, Mark Fain, Tori Franklin, Matthew Golden, Andre Golshir, Zhanpeng Gong, Kyle Hamilton, Elizabeth Hartley, Alexandria Higgs, Chloe Holmes, Jeffrey Hunt, Rebecca Johnson, Phillip Kim, Da Lien, Jessica Mcdonald, Paige Mitchell, Lukas Orr, Aiden Park, Brittany Pea, Sophia Sabsowitz, Jessica Saldivar, Gabriel Sanchez, Rosario Sandoval-Gonzalez, Braxton Sheats, Armin Shirazi, Amanda Shoff, Travis Simmons, Chantel Simon, Cieara Smikle, Dashay Walker, Joshua Weiss, Tiara White, Kyle Williams-Johnson, Ashley Woodall and Mitchell Word, all of Marietta; Terrell Bond, Fortune Chimaobi, Brenda Famurewa, Samantha Filzen, Jasper Greene, Sarah Hudson, Kaetlyn Knight, Shahbaz Momin, Antonio Noland, Chioma Okonkwo, Janell Perry, Evelyn Quiroz, Rostislav Tkachenko, Adam Vicente, Christopher Williams, Dean Wylie and Rachel Yalew, all of Powder Springs; and Robert Adams, Kiana Baldon, Sanna Bryant, Walter Castillo, Roberto Cruz, Alazaih Evans, Chassidy Houston, Katherine Lezama, Nhu Luong, Danae Medellin, Victory Nwankwo, Jennifer Oti, Meet Patel, Ashley Persaud, Chasteney Richardson, Gabriella Salinas, Remus Turnier, Eva Williams, Hilary Williams and Matthew Wright, all of Smyrna.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.