Thirteen local seniors were among the over 3,500 recipients of $500 to $2,000 scholarships in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, the Evanston, Illinois-based National Merit Scholarship Corp. announced June 5.

A final group of scholars will be announced in July. This year, 173 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program.

This group is Merit’s third announcement of winners in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. April 17, more than 1,000 recipients of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards were named, and May 8, about 2,500 recipients of $2,500 scholarships were announced.

By the conclusion of this year’s competition, about 7,600 academic champions will have won National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million. The latest group of scholarship winners are:

Campbell: Avery R. Bradley

Holy Innocents’: William Scarborough

North Atlanta: Mary A. Culp

Pace: Aaron Zou

St. Pius X: Jason A. Anandappa, Jared J. Druss, Patrick E. Leonard and Luke Mersberger

Weber: Nolan Spencer Siegel

Westminster: Rishab Jayanthi and Christopher A. Rascoe

Whitefield: Zachary P. Justice

Woodward: Rohan Jhanjee

For more information, visit


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.