Several local schools’ students have been named finalists or alternates in the prestigious Georgia Governor’s Honors Program.

It is a residential summer program for gifted and talented high school students who just completed their sophomore and junior years. Selection is based on a combination of ability and interest and is highly competitive. Students will arrive on the campus of Berry College in Rome June 16, and the program ends July 13.

Students will spend the mornings in their major area of nomination, exploring topics not usually found in the regular high school classroom for four consecutive weeks. Evenings are filled with opportunities to attend seminars, activities, concerts and performances.

According to a news release, more than 3,200 students were nominated at the state level, with over 1,500 competing as semifinalists in late February. Only 658 students were chosen as finalists, representing one-fourth of 1% of eligible sophomores and juniors in the state, and 111 were selected as alternates. These students come from 242 different high schools and 89 school districts in Georgia.

2019 will mark the program’s 56th consecutive summer, making it the longest continually running governor’s school in the nation. The program is fully funded by the state with no cost to attendees beyond travel.

Here are the students participating in the program (all students are listed as finalists unless noted as an alternate):

Atlanta International: juniors Haley Patton (theater), Robert Luke Joseph (communicative arts) and sophomore Jason Huang (mathematics)

Campbell: juniors Chloe Campbell (theater), Damon Lin (mathematics), Darin Momayezi (world languages, French), Eden Rowe (communicative arts), John LeGrow (social studies), Maryanne Hable (world languages, Chinese), Sophia Sobrino (visual arts), Vivian Tong (world languages, Spanish) and Youssef Jaafar (world languages, French) and sophomores Cecelia Pumpelly (communicative arts), Sydney Brock (communicative arts), Veronica Sills (communicative arts, alternate) and Ana Herndon (social studies, alternate)

Holy Innocents’: sophomore Maddie Poch (alternate, communicative arts)

Holy Spirit: Manny Yepes (physics), William Arnold (social studies) and Sophia John (communicative arts)

Galloway: junior Josie Palisoc (social studies) and sophomore Abigail Peacock (dance)

Lovett: junior Sarah Packman (world languages, French) and sophomore Nikita Gupta (world languages, Chinese)

Marist: juniors Anna Giglio (Latin), Cecelia Reed (German), Sofia Laskowski (Spanish) and Charlie Fligg (engineering, alternate) and sophomore Amanda Foy (dance)

North Atlanta: juniors Leah Overstreet (communicative arts), Lenox Johnson (theater) and Quinton Cables (physics) and sophomores Alison Christmann-Vener (communicative arts), Mia Johnson (dance) and Shania Barker (agricultural research, biotechnology and science)

Pace: juniors India Behl (social studies) and Francesca Vaneri (social studies)

Riverwood: juniors Anais Acree (world languages, French), Hayes Miller (history) and Ricardo Ruiz (mathematics) and sophomore Luke Courts (music)

St. Pius X: juniors Sylvie Buckalew (communicative arts), Margherita Ceccagnoli (French) and Peter Hollensbee (social studies)

Wesleyan: juniors Lindsey Mains (communicative arts), Tyler Sturtevant (theatre) and Andy Yang (mathematics)

Westminster: juniors Albert Liang (Spanish), Laura Sams (communicative arts), Emre Duvenci (social studies) and Henry Rosenblath (social studies) and sophomore Yash Kadadi (physics, alternate)

Woodward: finalists — juniors Lauren Thomas (dance), Michael Chapin (communicative arts) and Sydney Mance (Spanish) — and alternates — juniors Erin Brooks (Spanish), Arnae Cottle (dance), Erin Kim (music, woodwind) and Harbin Hong (music, woodwind) and sophomore Caden Gradek (mathematics)

Editor’s note: Mount Vernon, North Springs and Weber did not submit information on whether their schools participated in the program this year by the Neighbor’s deadline. The remaining schools in the Neighbor’s coverage area either are not participating in the program this year or their students did not advance to the finalist level.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.