Thirteen local seniors were among the about 2,500 recipients of $2,500 scholarships in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, the Evanston, Illinois-based National Merit Scholarship Corp. announced May 8.

They were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding finalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. The local $2,500 scholarship winners are:

Campbell: Alexander R. Eaton and Kiran Gourisankar

Galloway: Sarah Rose Kaufman

Holy Innocents’: Colin J. Cassell

Lovett: William V. Formisano

Marist: Isabella C. Hay and Natalie M. Selover

North Atlanta: George L. Gfroerer

Westminster: Sreya Atmuri, Daniel I. DeSouza, Jessica C. Lao and Grady M. Thomas

Woodward: Lily H. Chahine

National Merit $2,500 scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors.

These scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.

This group is Merit’s second announcement of winners in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. April 17, more than 1,000 recipients of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards were named, and June 5 and July 15, some 4,100 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners will be announced. By the conclusion of this year’s competition, about 7,600 academic champions will have won National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million.

The five local corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients are:

Campbell: Tarannum M. Lakdawala

St. Pius X: Thomas R. Wiley

Westminster: Vincent R. Fang and Luke T. Zhuo

Woodward: Alex M. Burgess

The Merit Corp. finances most of these single-payment National Merit $2,500 Scholarships. Corporations and company foundations that sponsor awards through Merit also help underwrite these scholarships with grants they provide in lieu of paying administrative fees. Scholars may use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university.

For more information, visit


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.