Blessed Trinity football player Carson Harof

Blessed Trinity football player Carson Harof carries ball during the Georgia High School Association (GHSA) Class 4A State Championship contest against North Oconee at Georgia State Stadium in Atlanta Dec. 14.

With the end of the prep football season taking place, the post-season honors have begun for the local players and coaches in the area.

Blessed Trinity won its third-consecutive Georgia High School Association (GHSA) Class 4A state championship with a 17-14 victory over Oconee County at Georgia State Stadium in Atlanta Dec. 14. It's the Titans third overall title and the 12th time in GHSA history that a school has won three-consecutive state championships.

Blessed Trinity also won the Region 7AAAA title in the regular season and had several All-Region members starting with offensive linemen Jackson Filipowicz and Ty Furnish. On the defensive side, linebackers Ryan Dupont and Jackson Hamilton as well as back Quinton Reese and lineman Grayson Gilder were All-Region selections

Denmark, also in Region 7AAAA, earned seven wins and reached the postseason for the first time in program history. The Danes had quarterback Aaron McLaughlin and wide receiver Ze’vian Capers on the All-Region offense. Linebackers C.J. Ford and Nick Carozza as well as lineman Arthur Marsdan were on the defense.

Wesleyan reached the GHSA Class A Private championship game and had several players named to the All-Region 5A first-team offense including wide receiver Cooper Blauser, lineman Tanner Bivins, Javy Martinez at placekicker, J.C. French at quarterback, Griffin Caldwell at running back and Micah Smith at wide receiver. The first-team defense featured linebacker Josh Aspinwall and defensive back Trent Bartlett.

Fellowship Christian won 12 games, the Region 6A title and reached the semifinals of the Class A Private playoffs. Paladins head coach Al Morrell was named the region’s Coach of the Year and running back Murphy Reeves was the Region 6A South Offensive Player of the Year. The first-team offense featured lineman Charlie Patterson and Reid Robinson, fullback Jayven Hall and tight end Brady Niblock. The first-team defense included linebackers Kyle Elphick and Nathan Nardone, lineman Joey Archer, back Josh Cole and punter Bryce Paul.

The All-Region 7AAAAAA first team was announced starting with Johns Creek players who were on a team that won the region title and reached the second round of the Class 6A playoffs. Gladiators linebacker Jon Ross Maye was the region’s Defensive Player of the Year. Wide receivers Dalton Pearson and Yong Min Lee as well as lineman Billy Waters were on the offensive team while the defense featured lineman Josh Davis, and back Pat Taylor.

Alpharetta finished second in the region and qualified for the state playoffs as well. The Raiders had lineman John Jenness, linebacker Cam Dorsey, backs Kristofer Thomas and Jaden Slocum as well as kicker Bryce Troutt were on the All-Region defense.

Northview reached the postseason led by James Thomson who was named the region’s Coach of the year and quarterback Beau Lark, the Offensive Player of the Year. The All-Region first-team offense included linemen Sam Ryan and Josh Irwin as well as tight end Sam Babadele. Titans’ linebacker Derek Flanary and utility player Travis Buchanan were on the first-team defense.

Other local players on the All-Region 7AAAAAA first-team offense were running back Phillip Michael Collins from Cambridge and wide receiver Jordan Palmer of Chattahoochee while Cambridge linebacker Mike Hudson was on the first-team defense.

Roswell earned the Region 4AAAAAAA title this season and reached the second round of the Class 7A playoffs. Wide receiver/tight end John Copenhaver was named the region’s Player of the Year. The first-team offense featured lineman Trey Zimmerman and Matt Copeland while wide receiver Jacob Jarrett from Roswell. The Hornets had three defenders on the squad in lineman Caden Bondurant, linebacker Doneiko Slaughter and back John Michael Diroberto.

Milton won the Region 5AAAAAAA title and advanced to the second round of the Class 7A playoffs. Jack Rhodes, who saw time at defensive back, linebacker, wide receiver and kick returner this season was named the region’s Athlete of the Year. Lineman Zander Barnett was the region’s co-Defensive Player of the Year and Adam Clack the Coach of the Year.

The Eagles had three linemen named to the All-Region first-team offense in Alec Hutchinson, Anthony Minella and Paul Tchio. Quarterback Devin Farrell, running back Ahmad Junearick and tight end Jack Nickel were also first-team offensive players. The first-team defense included lineman Marcos Rangel, edge Jonathan Pittman, back Bryce Thornton and kicker Jason Aussin.

Support Local Journalism

Now, more than ever, residents need trustworthy reporting—but good journalism isn’t free. Please support us by purchasing a digital subscription. Your subscription will allow you unlimited access to important local news stories. Our mission is to keep our community informed and we appreciate your support.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.