The Atlanta Track Club hosted the Powerade All-Metro Track and Field Team Banquet at the Stave Room in Atlanta on June 6. The athletes were selected based on criteria through season bests, their performances at major events throughout the season including the Georgia High School Association (GHSA) State Championships.

Sam Bowers of Milton was selected to the team in the boys’ 3,200-meter run category. He won the Class AAAAAAA state championship in that event this season. Other male athletes of local interest named to the team included Luella’s Latrell Murray (300-meter hurdles), William Jones of Lithia Springs (long jump), Cedar Grove’s Keshun Byrd (triple jump), Pache’ Caldwell of Riverwood (high jump) and Tanner Duffin of St. Pius X (discus throw). The men’s’ coaching staffs of Cedar Grove, St. Pius X and Dutchtown were also acknowledged.

Naima Turbes of Westminster was selected to the team in the girls’ 800-meter run category. She won the Class AAA state championship in that event this season. The North Springs’ 4x400-meter relay team which included runners Kayla Tolbert, Saran Kouyeth, Kennedi Weston Shields, Jayda Drake-Howard, Mckinze Nation and Lailah Williams were also selected. The girls’ coaching staffs of Wesleyan, Chapel Hill and Alexander were also acknowledged.

Major League Baseball held its First-Year Player Draft from June 4 to 6. Alpharetta High School alumnus and Georgia Southern baseball player Chase Cohen was selected in the ninth round by the Oakland Athletics. Kennesaw State baseball player and St. Pius alumnus Grant Williams was picked in the tenth round by the Boston Red Sox. Kevin Smith of the University of Georgia and alumnus of Dunwoody High School was selected by the New York Mets in the seventh round.

The Texas Rangers picked Eagle’s Landing High School alumnus Jonathan Edwards in the 16th round. Datren Bray, an alum of Chapel Hill HS and a player of Gordon State College, was selected by the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim in the 19th round. Redan HS alum Kelvin Smith was picked by the Detroit Tigers in the 20th round.

The Georgia Dugout Preview organization named its prep baseball All-State teams on June 3. The Class AAAAAAA first team included Milton junior infielder Graham Pauley. The second team

The Class AAAAAA first team included Alpharetta senior infielder Santiago Mondial and Northview senior catcher Michael Trautwein. The second team featured two Alpharetta senior athletes included utility player Ben Browning and outfielder Justin Kirby as well as Chattahoochee junior pitcher Davis Rokose.

Blessed Trinity was well represented in the Class AAAA first team with juniors CJ Abrams (infielder) and Jake Smith (pitcher) as well as senior pitcher Clark Dearman on the squad. The second team featured junior outfielder Ryan Davis and senior pitcher Sebastian Szot.

King’s Ridge senior infielder Michael Wein was on the Class A Private first team. The second team included King’s Ridge senior infielder Will Pittman, two athletes from Fellowship Christian in junior infielder Issac Bouton and senior pitcher Kurtis Royalty as well as three players from Wesleyan in junior infielders Don Daniel and Landon Parks and sophomore catcher Charlie Taylor.

The Georgia Athletic Coaches Association (GACA) has named its All-State Lacrosse teams. The boys’ Class 6A-7A first team included Centennial’s Nicky Solomon and Ryan Siracusa in attack, Roswell’s JP Robinson at defense, Nick Gamen of Cambridge at long stick middle and Northview’s Noah Johnson at goalie. The second team featured Will Caylor of Northview at defense, Chase Stoddard of Milton at goalie and Roswell’s MP Thomas at face off. The third team included Johns Creek’s Reed Weinberg and Ryan Sadighian of Cambridge at defense as well as Brian Kye of Johns Creek of Johns Creek.

The boys’ Class A-AAAAA first team featured Blessed Trinity’s Cole Coopman at defense and goalie Victor Nicholl. The second team included Ethan Holthaus and Nick Jones of Blessed Trinity at attack and long stick respectively as well as Garrett Hangartner of Wesleyan at midfield. The third team featured Wesleyan’s Rawley Smith at attack and Bennett Oess of Blessed Trinity at midfield.

The girls’ Class 6A-7A first team included Milton’s Briana Carrasquillo, Erin Degnan, Allie Peebles, Sydney Ballew, Maddie Erby, Savannah Cosman and Haley Monette as well as Cambridge’s Ally Schnetzka, Lexi Jack, Belle Dora, Bailey Hawkins and Landyn White. The second team featured Milton’s Kate Winsness, Leah Nedza and Brie Catts, Johns Creek’s Avery McIlwaine and Andrea Colavito as well as Centennial’s Christina Fabrizio.

The girls’ Class A-AAAAA first team featured Blessed Trinity’s Kaley Attaway, Kelly Scott and Elise Hammelrath as well as Wesleyan’s Molly Bradach, Tabitha Conrad, Lindsey Hayes and Chloe Hangartner. The second team included Blessed Trinity’s Camryn Johns, Ansley Biggs as well as Fellowship Christian’s Haley Herrmann, Suzanne Moore, Kate Buchweitz and Shelby Stock.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.