Madelyn Horne

Johns Creek track and field athlete Madelyn Horne during the Georgia High School (GHSA) Track and Field Championships in Carrollton from May 9 through 11. 

The Atlanta Track Club held its 55th Annual Powerade All-Metro Track & Field Banquet on June 5 in Atlanta with several local athletes and coaching receiving honors.

St. Pius X thrower Tanner Duffin was awarded the Bruce Yohe Most Outstanding Field Athlete award for the second consecutive year. The senior athlete won the shot put and discus throw events at the Georgia High School Association (GHSA) Class 4A State Track and Field Championships in Albany from May 9 through 11. Duffin’s distances in the shot of 70’2.25” and the discus at 200’10” this season were the second longest throws in the nation in those respective events.

“It feels really good,” said Duffin courtesy of the ATC. “It’s great to see a lot of hard work paying off. I’m just happy with my career and four years of amazing experiences.” Duffin was named to the Powerade All-Metro Track & Field Boys Team in his two disciplines.

Northview athlete Jonathan Baker also won two state championships, the long jump and triple jump, at the Class 6A competition in Carrollton and was named All-Metro in those two events. Baker posted a distance of 7.51 meters in the long jump and 14.61 meters in the triple jump.

Other local male athletes on the squad included Woodward Academy senior Sultan Sims in the high jump. The War Eagles’ athlete won the Class 4A high jump title with a height of 1.98 meters.

The rest of the boys’ team for individual events were Jaylen Slade (100 meter dash, Chapel Hill), Kibren Moore (200 dash, Pebblebrook), Ja’Shaun Poke (400 dash, Dutchtown), Harrison Fultz (800 run, Starr’s Mill), Kyle Harkabu (1,600 run, East Coweta), Calen Gizelbach (3,200 run, Forsyth Central), Myles Marshall (110 hurdles, Lassiter), Samuel Smith (300 hurdles, Union Grove), Sultan Sims (high jump) and Brian Jauch (pole vault, Parkview). Dutchtown’s 4x100 relay unit of Dylan Stokes, Samir Trawick, Joseph Laster III, DeShaun Long, Ricky Avery and Poke along with Shiloh’s 4x400 group of Christion Baker, Elijah Berry, Paryce Taylor, Jaden Barker, Omar Simpson and Patrez Thomas were also named to the team.

Alpharetta coach Dave Melissas was honored for leading the boys’ team to the Class 6A state title. Other state championship coaches acknowledged were from Class A Mount Paran Christian (Wesley Anderson), Class 3A Landmark Christian (Bill Thorn), Class 4A Chapel Hill (Travis Mihalik and Buddy Walters), Class 4A St. Pius X (Ryan McClay), Class 5A Buford (Fyrone Davis, Ron King, Crystal Fowler and Chrissy Woodson), Class 6A Dunwoody (Robert Buggs), Class 7A Campbell (Brian Smith, Terrance Wilson, Michelle Lanier and Lisha Wood) and Class 7A Shiloh (Devin Jones).

The All-Metro Girls team included Johns Creek athlete Madelyn Horne who won the Class 6A discus throw state championship with a winning distance of 46.28 meters. She was named to the team for that discipline. The rest of the team included the following individual athletes: Jazmine Hobson (Shiloh, 100 meter dash), Alexis Williams (Lovejoy, 200 dash), Kimberly Harris (400 dash, Buford), Brynne Sumner (800 and 1,600 runs, Woodstock), Ellie Hall (3,200 run, Marietta), Darci Khan (100 hurdles, Stockbridge), Niya Benton-Andrews (300 hurdles, Jackson (Atlanta) HS), Jasmine Jones (long jump, Greater Atlanta Christian), Morgan Bentley (triple jump, Brookwood), Elasia Campbell (high jump, Walton), Payton Phillips (pole vault, Carrollton) and Hannah Jackson (shot put, Kell). Buford’s 4x100 relay unit of Trinity Rossum, Phoenix Armstead, Britney Johnson, Trinity Price and Harris as well as Campbell’s 4x400 relay team of Jaleah Alston, Makylah Jones, Mekenze Kelley, Ashton Lindley, Akilah Parish and Makayla Jones were also honored.

The Georgia Athletic Director’s Association (GADA) named its winners of the Regions Bank Director’s Cup for the 2018-19 academic year on May 28. The Cup has been awarded since the 1999-2000 academic school year and purpose “is to recognize those athletic departments in all of GHSA classifications who have excelled and shown superior performance,” per guidelines by the GADA.

Wesleyan earned the Class A Cup with 1,318 total points followed by Commerce (1,085), Gordon Lee (1,072), Athens Academy (1,089) and Mount Paran (1,054) to round out the top five.

Cambridge brought home the Class 6A Cup with 1,119 points. The rest of the top five was Harrison (1,115), Pope (1,086), Creekview (987) and Richmond Hill (974). Johns Creek (912) was sixth.

Blessed Trinity finished second in the Class 4A standings with 1,231 points. Marist earned the Cup with a point total of 1,272. Milton placed fourth in the Class 7A competition which was won by Walton.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.