Alpharetta, Milton and Roswell city elections have concluded, leaving residents with several re-elected candidates and a runoff race in Roswell. 

Alpharetta voters elected Dan Merkel to post 6, with 62.56% of votes. Clifford Martin ended at 21.77% and Abu Bakkar Ngila Jalloh at 15.67%. Mayor Jim Gilvin and Council Members Jason Binder and John Hipes will return to council unchallenged.

Additionally, 91.56% of Alpharetta voters voted yes to the homestead exemption, which says the basic homestead exemption should be increased to $45,000. Nearly 85% of voters also voted to remove the income cap for seniors, so that all homeowners aged 65 and above could qualify for an additional $25,000 in savings.

Milton voters elected post 2 candidate Paul Moore at 62.64% of votes. Carol Cookerly and Rick Mohrig saw no challengers and will continue to serve on city council. 

Roswell city judge candidate Brian Hansford won his seat with 77.48% of votes, and candidate Philip Mansell received 22.52%.

Incumbent post 1 city council member Marcelo Zapata won post 1 with 56.88% of votes. His opponent Don Horton ended the night at 43.12% of votes.

For city council post 2, candidate Mike Palermo won with 61.56% of votes, with Geoff Smith at 38.44% of votes. 

City council candidates for post 3 could face a runoff election this December. Candidate Christine Hall is leading with 34.52% of votes, and Lisa Holland at 31.84% of votes. Keith Geoke sits at 18.06% of votes and Kay Howell at 15.58% of votes. 


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.