At least one of Fulton County’s 12 contested state legislative races is heading to an Aug. 11 runoff following the June 9 primary election.

With 100% of precincts reporting, according to both the secretary of state’s and Fulton County’s websites, all races are decided unless a recount is requested, granted and changes the outcome.

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, the presidential primary was postponed from March 24 and then it, along with the remaining elections, was delayed from May 19.

In the District 65 Georgia House of Representatives race, incumbent Sharon Beasley-Teague (48.20%) and Mandisha Thomas (36.55%) are heading to a Democratic runoff after leading a three-candidate campaign that also included Amber Doss-Hunter (14.25%), with the winner unopposed in November.

It’s one of Fulton’s seven opposed state House elections, with the incumbents involved winning or leading in all of their other races.

In the District 22 Democratic primary, Charles Ravenscroft beat Bobbi Simpson with 53.26%, and the winner will face incumbent Republican Wes Cantrell in November. Jason Hayes defeated Ken Lawler with 54.04% in the District 49 Democratic race, and will battle incumbent Republican Chuck Martin in November.

In District 55, incumbent Marie Metze defeated Fred Quinn Jr. with 60.84% in the Democratic campaign, and she will be unopposed in November. Mesha Mainor (53.95%) avoided a runoff against Josh McNair (33.66%) and Darryl Terry II (12.38%) in the District 56 Democratic race to replace incumbent “Able” Mable Thomas, who is not running for reelection. Mainor will be unopposed in November.

In District 57, Stacey Evans won with 56.78% against Alex Wan (32.38%), Kyle Lamont (7.40%) and Jenne Shepherd (3.43%) in the Democratic race to replace incumbent Pat Gardner, D-Atlanta, who is retiring. Evans will be unopposed in November.

Incumbent Debra Bazemore beat Kenneth “Ken” Kincaid with 73.68% in the District 63 Democrat race, with the winner facing Republican David Callahan in November.

Fulton had five contested state Senate elections, with the incumbents involved winning all of them.

In District 21, incumbent Brandon Beach beat Michael Caldwell with 59.11% in the Republican race, and will be unopposed in November. In District 35, incumbent Donzella James won with 63.37% against Karen Ashley (19.16%) and Kelly Johnson (17.47%) in the Democratic campaign, and will be unopposed in November.

In the District 38 Democratic race, incumbent Horacena Tate won with 52.90% against Tania Robinson (25.56%), Devin Barrington-Ward (11.24%) and Michael Carson (10.29%). Tate will be unopposed in November.

In District 39, incumbent Nikema Williams defeated Linda Pritchett with 76.53% in the Democratic primary and will be unopposed in November. Michelle Au defeated Josh Uddin with 77.64% in the District 48 Democratic race and will battle Republican Matt Reeves in November. Incumbent Zahra Karinshak, D-Duluth, is vacating the seat to run for the District 7 U.S. House post.

Support Local Journalism

Now, more than ever, residents need trustworthy reporting—but good journalism isn’t free. Please support us by purchasing a digital subscription. Your subscription will allow you unlimited access to important local news stories. Our mission is to keep our community informed and we appreciate your support.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.