peachtree road race

Bernard Lagat, left, and Stephanie Bruce, right, stand with an Atlanta Track Club representative winning the men's and women's divisions, respectively, in the Peachtree Road Race July 4.

The Fourth of July provided the premier atmosphere for the 49th Peachtree Road Race which saw more than 60,000 participants race through the streets of Atlanta. The event was also the host to the USA Track and Field (USATF) 10 km Championships.

Americans Bernard Lagat and Stephanie Bruce won the national championships in the men’s and women’s competitions respectively. It was the first victory in the competition for both runners. Each winner won $10,000 and earned a place on the Peachtree Cup.

Bernard Lagat, 43, earned first with a time of 28 minutes, 45 seconds, outlasting Haron Lagat by seven seconds, and became the oldest winner of a USATF 10-kilometer event in history. Tyler Pennell, Sam Chelanga and Lopez Lomong rounded out the top-five finishers. Bernard Lagat was fifth last year as set the masters course record with a time of 28:42. The win adds to his illustrious career which includes 14 USATF track titles and two Olympic medals in the 1,500-meter run.

Decatur native Jason Parks was the top Georgian finisher with a time of 31:50.

Bruce, 34, won her event with a personal-best time of 32:21, defeating defending champion Aliphine Tuliamuk by seven seconds while Sara Hall placed third. Atlanta native Yolanda Ngarambe was the top Georgian at 34:54.

The Shepherd Center Wheelchair Division included a major upset in the women’s competition. Susannah Scaron, 27, defeated the seven-time and defending champion Tatyana McFadden with a time of 22:49.05, winning the event by four seconds.

The men’s competition was won by Daniel Romanchuk, 19, for the second-consecutive year. He posted a time of 18:40 which was one second off of the course record.

The A5 Volleyball Club concluded its season with two teams bringing home national championships.

The 2018 AAU Junior National Volleyball Championships were held at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex and the Orange County Convention Center from June 17 to 28 in Orlando, Florida.

The A5 16 Scott team brought home the AAU Girls’ Junior National Championship in the 16 Premier Division. The team won all 12 of its matches in the tournament and won 24 out of 25 sets played.

A5 16 Scott finished pool play undefeated and won its quarterfinals match over OT 16 out of Florida by the score of 25-18, 25-18 on June 28. The squad followed it up with a victory against Revolution PGH White from Pennsylvania in the semifinals 25-16, 25-19. A5 16 Scott secured the title with a 25-11, 25-19 win over Northern Lights 16 out of Minnesota in the finals. Sarah Flynn was named the MVP of the event while teammates Hayden McGee and Catherine Cheney were All-Stars.

A5 Volleyball overall sent 35 teams to the AAU National Championships, some of which received honors. The A5 12 Jing team earned a silver medal in the 12 Open Division, winning 10 out its 11 matches and having players Brinson Chesnut and Grace Agolli named to the All-American Team.

The A5 17 Jing team also earned silver within its classification, the 17 Open Division. The team had an 11-1 mark at the competition with Lauryn Burrows and Reilly Macneill named to the All-America Team.

The A5 16 Liang team earned the bronze in the 16 Club Division, posting an 11-2 mark at the event.

Other athletes that were named to the All-Star/All-American Teams were Evoni Lemons (15 Premier), Emery Dupes (15 Open), Evoni Lemons (15 Premier), Ahayla Jolliffe (16 Club), Bria Plante (16 Club), Madison Morey (16 Open), Caitlin O'Farrell (17 Premier), Gabby Gonzales (17 Open), Lauryn Burrows (17 Open) and Reilly MacNeill (17 Open).

A5 Volleyball sent 25 teams to the USA Volleyball Girls’ Junior National Championships in Detroit which began on June 25. The program was one of only two programs along with OTVA to qualify a team in the top division of each category and its the fourth consecutive year A5 has achieved this distinction.

The A5 South 15 Joe team won the 15 National Division with three victories on June 29. The team won its quarterfinals’ contest over NORCO 15 Black by the score of 26-20, 25-20. After picking up a 26-24, 25-19 victory in the semifinals against OT 15 T. Randy, A5 South secured the title with a 25-23, 25-15 win over Premier Nebraska 15 Gold in the finals. Ngozi Iloh was named the MVP of the event while teammates Caroline Darracott and Claire Lewis were on the All-Tournament Team.

Other All-Tournament performers at the USA Volleyball Nationals were Kalissa Greene (15 Open), Jacque Boney (15 Open), Ali Schreiber (16 USA), Hayden McGee (16 USA), Kailin Taggart (16 USA MVP), Ally Hall (16 Open), Gabby Gonzales (17 Open) and Nailah Jenkins (17 Open).


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.