The last of the qualifying period for the Nov. 5 civic elections in Cobb County ends Friday afternoon.

Candidates in Powder Springs have until 4:30 p.m. Friday to qualify with the Cobb County Board of Elections and Registration.

Qualifying ended in Acworth, Austell and Kennesaw at 4:30 p.m. Wednesday and in Smyrna at 4:30 p.m. Thursday.

Cobb Elections is hosting municipal voting for all cities except Acworth, which will host its own elections.

Marietta will not host elections this year as the city’s mayor, council members and school board members were all on the ballot in 2017 when they were elected to four-year terms.

All municipal elections are nonpartisan and do not require a primary election.

Here are the names of those who have qualified so far:


Board of Aldermen seats, at-large

Post 1

♦ Butch Price, (I)

♦ Crystal Bailey Williams

Post 2

♦ Gene Pugliese, (I)

Post 3

♦ Brett North, (I)

♦ Salome Sadera



♦ Ollie Clemons, (I)

♦ Chris Djonis

♦ Ikaika Anderson

♦ Cindy Thompson

Council seats, at-large

Post 2

♦ Valarie Anderson, (I)

Council seats by ward

Ward 2

♦ Shontae Brown

♦ Devon Myrick

Ward 4

♦ Sandra Leverette, (I)



♦ Derek Easterling, (I)

Council seats, at large

Post 1

♦ James Eaton, (I)

♦ Antonio Jones

♦ Karen Gitau

Post 2

♦ Tracey Viars, (I)



♦ Alex Backry

♦ Ryan Campbell

♦ Laura Mireles

♦ Derek Norton

♦ Steven Rasin

Council seats, by ward

Ward 1

♦ Glenn Pickens

Ward 2

♦ Andrea Blustein, (I)

♦ Austin Wagner

Ward 3

♦ Maryline Blackburn, (I)

♦ Travis Lindley

Ward 4

♦ Charles Welch, (I)

Ward 5

♦ Suz Kaprich

♦ James Smith

♦ Susan Wilkinson, (I)

Ward 6

♦ Tim Gould, (I)

Ward 7

♦ David Monroe

♦ Lewis Wheaton

Powder Springs


♦ Al Thurman, (I)

Council seats, at-large

Post 1

♦ Patrick Bordelon, (I)

♦ Larry Thomas

Post 2

♦ Nancy Hudson

♦ Patricia Wisdom, (I)

Qualifying in Powder Springs continues through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. with an hour lunch break at 1 p.m. Qualifying will be held in the second floor conference room at the Powder Springs City Hall, 2282 Marietta St.

For more information on the upcoming municipal elections, visit For more information on Acworth’s elections, visit


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.