Cobb’s City of Chattahoochee Plantation
by Damon_Poirier
 MDJ Time Capsule
April 29, 2013 10:26 AM | 3700 views | 0 0 comments | 25 25 recommendations | email to a friend | print | permalink

While Cobb County currently only has six cities – Acworth, Austell, Kennesaw, Marietta, Powder Springs and Smyrna – longtime residents will remember that the county has had several other cities over the years. Some of the more well-known cities were Elizabeth, Clarkdale, Mableton and Fair Oaks, which have been mentioned at different times in previous MDJ Time Capsule columns. But, while researching last week’s column this author came across a new obscure city.

In the Monday, April 19, 1993 MDJ, there was a story about how after 32 years of existence the county’s least known city, Chattahoochee Plantation, faced disappearing from the map due to a new state law.

A bill that passed during the 1993 session of the Georgia General Assembly and signed by Gov. Zell Miller stated that all nonfunctioning cities – those that provided no services to their residents – would lose their charters by 1995. The bill was crafted as a means for the state to save grant money.

Chattahoochee Plantation, according to the story, never offered a service, held a meeting or even a vote to anyone’s knowledge. The city was even overlooked by the Georgia Municipal Association’s list of about 100 cities that would be affected by the bill.

At the time, Chattahoochee Plantation stretched from the Douglas County line northward along the Cobb side of the Chattahoochee River toward Cherokee County.

Chattahoochee Plantation was created in 1961 in the Chattahoochee Plantation Estates subdivision in east Cobb by former Cobb County Reps. Bill Teague, Harold Willingham and Joe Mack Wilson – who served as Marietta’s mayor from 1990 until his death on May 17, 1993. The city was later expanded in 1968 to prevent the City of Atlanta from annexing the area.

When it incorporated, Chattahoochee Plantation had a mayor and city council that was appointed by developer Bill Ward and Fred Brown, who also named themselves as members of the council. Other members of the first and only Chattahoochee Plantation municipal government were Herman Warren, W.E. McFarland, Clyde King Jr. and Richard L. Simms – the only mayor of the city.

Prior to Cobb Rep. Hugh Lee McDaniell’s 1968 House bill that expanded the boundaries of Chattahoochee Plantation, the City of Atlanta had been annexing parts of both Clayton and DeKalb counties and was actively trying to annex everything within the Perimeter and Sandy Springs. Atlanta Mayor Ivan Allen was reportedly looking to bring outlying areas into Atlanta to add to the city’s tax base.

Because of the threat of these annexations, the Cobb House delegation – which consisted of Reps. McDaniell, Bob Howard, Joe Mack Wilson, J.H. Henderson Jr. and Sens. Cyrus M. Chapman and Sam P. Hensley – decided to protect the entire Cobb border with Fulton and created the largest waterfront city in the state of Georgia.

Over the years, Chattahoochee Plantation remained obscure except for an unsuccessful attempt by Rep. Sallie Newbill, R-Sandy Springs, in 1991 to use its charter as a method to incorporate the Sandy Springs area. However, in recent years, Sandy Springs residents finally won their battle and were incorporated as a city.

While no longer a city, Chattahoochee Plantation currently is a small portion of East Cobb and made up of several neighborhoods that are a part of the Chattahoochee Plantation Community Association (CPCA).

Damon Poirier is the Newsroom Administrator for the Marietta Daily Journal.

If you are interested in learning more about the stories that were presented in this week’s column, you can search the newspaper’s digitized microfilm archives online. NewsBank, which hosts the archives for the Marietta Daily Journal, charges a fee for retrieved articles and has various price packages available. If you have any trouble with your username, password or payment options, please contact NewsBank at


Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, and spam will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides